Get Google Now on Your Rooted Ice Cream Sandwich Phone


Get Google Now on Your Rooted Ice Cream Sandwich Phone

Android: Google Now is one of the coolest features of Android 4.1 Jelly Bean, but if you’re running an Ice Cream Sandwich ROM, you can get it on your device with just a few small tweaks.

This only works on AOSP Ice Cream Sandwich ROMs, so you won’t be able to get it if you’re running, say, an HTC Sense Ice Cream Sandwich ROM—you’ll need something like CyanogenMod 9. To get it working, download the APK and perform the following steps:

  1. Open Root Explorer or another root-enabled file explorer and go to /system.
  2. Tap the “Mount R/W” button, then scroll down to build.prop and press and hold on it. Tap “Open in Text Editor”.
  3. Find the line that says ro.build.version.sdk=15 and change it to read ro.build.version.sdk=16. Press the menu button and tap “Save and Exit”.
  4. Go to /system/app and hold-press GoogleQuickSearchBox.apk. Rename it to GoogleQuickSearchBox.apk1. If that file doesn’t exist (it didn’t for me), just skip this step.
  5. Reboot your phone and install the Google Now APK, once again available here.
  6. Go back and edit build.prop as described in step two, and change the ro.build.version.sdk line back to 15.

Not everything works perfectly (voice search is completely broken, for example), but it’s still much better than the current Google search app. You’ll get the advanced Knowledge Graph-based search, as well as smart cards for things like weather, nearby restaurants, and more. Note that every phone is different, so your mileage may vary—so hit the link below to try it out and see what happens.

 

Source

96 thoughts on “Get Google Now on Your Rooted Ice Cream Sandwich Phone

  1. Hello! Someone in my Facebook group shared this site with us so I came to look it over.
    I’m definitely enjoying the information. I’m bookmarking and will be tweeting this to my followers! Fantastic blog and amazing design. Gracias

  2. There are several techniques used immediately: primarily brainwave entrainment
    as well as suggestion. The brain syncs on the ultra low frequencies which get
    lower as time passes. This “pulls” you right calmer deeply relaxed express.? Then while you’re within relaxed state the suggestions focus on changing your perspective as well as promoting optimism. That’s the short edition. =)

  3. Currently you don’t need to for you to bother about your appearance in the brand name chanel uk 2012 you acquire via hundreds of vendors, stores along with adjustable company websites.
    The state chanel site features most their solutions intended for anyone only his or her most affordable probable price ranges.
    Since coco chanel site can be a lot more common ever before morning, try out actually talking to folks who suffer from by now ordered a thing by way of the idea should you be even now terrified to buy brand name luggage on-line.
    This specific, your chanel uk website points out is because, that they origin his or her luggage and also other solutions off their production facilities the place that the majority generation comes about.
    Various savings, time income and in chanel on-line are common shown on the spot.

  4. I think that is one of the such a lot significant info for me.
    And i’m satisfied reading your article. However should remark on some common issues, The website style is ideal, the articles is in reality nice : D. Good job, cheers

  5. Appreciating the time and effort you put into your site and detailed
    information you offer. It’s awesome to come across a blog every once in a while that isn’t the same outdated rehashed material. Great read! I’ve bookmarked your site and I’m adding your RSS feeds to my Google account.

  6. Thanks for your personal marvelous posting! I truly enjoyed
    reading it, you might be a great author.I will always bookmark your blog and will
    come back very soon. I want to encourage
    continue your great job, have a nice morning!

  7. Good day , I m commenting you the following simply because I
    entirely concur in what you wrote in this submit! Is just pure real truth!

    I m a fan of your weblog now given that a
    few and I would like I could read it more usually but you know my work can take a good
    deal of my time ! I m sorry for my english I hope you forgive me !

  8. I don’t even know how I finished up here, however I assumed this put up was great. I do not understand who you’re however certainly you are going to a famous blogger for those who are not already. Cheers!

  9. My spouse and I stumbled over here by a different web address and thought I might
    check things out. I like what I see so i am just following you.
    Look forward to checking out your web page yet again.

  10. Howdy fantastic website! Does running a blog such as this take a large amount of work?
    I have virtually no understanding of programming however I had been hoping to start
    my own blog in the near future. Anyhow, if you have any suggestions or techniques for new blog owners please
    share. I understand this is off subject however I simply wanted to ask.
    Thanks!

  11. Hello there! I could have sworn I’ve been to this website before but after browsing through some of the post I realized it’s new to me. Anyways, I’m definitely delighted I found it and I’ll be book-marking and checking back often!

  12. Adserve.ro este un sistem de reclama online pay per click.

    Publicati reclamele dvs unei comunitati mari folosind Adserve.

    ro Cont de advertiser.
    Faceti publicitate cu anunţuri text şi banner orientate spre publicul de nişă, cu un control complet cu privire
    la rata de click şi buget.
    Prezentarea unui sistem eficient de cost de publicitate în care trebuie să plătiţi doar pentru
    clicuri legitime pe anunţurile dvs..

    Adserve.ro Cont publisher pentru webmasteri/detinatori
    siteuri.
    Castigati imediat bani cu siteul sau blogul dvs prin Adserve.
    ro Cont Publisher.
    Crearea de unităţi elegante şi moderne de afişare anunţuri/bannere care se potrivesc desigului site-ului sau blog-ului dvs.

    Afisati pe siteul dvs reclame legate de continutul siteului pentru a castiga din clickurile trimise de pe siteul dvs.

  13. Hi there! I know this is kinda off topic nevertheless I’d figured I’d ask. Would you be interested in exchanging links or maybe guest authoring a blog article or vice-versa? My blog covers a lot of the same topics as yours and I believe we could greatly benefit from each other. If you might be interested feel free to send me an email. I look forward to hearing from you! Wonderful blog by the way!

  14. We stumbled over here from a different page and thought I might as well check things out.
    I like what I see so now i am following you. Look forward to looking over
    your web page for a second time.

  15. After looking at a handful of the articles on your blog, I truly appreciate your technique of writing a blog.
    I added it to my bookmark webpage list and will be checking back
    in the near future. Take a look at my website as well and let me know
    how you feel.

  16. Hello would you mind letting me know which web host you’re working with? I’ve loaded your blog in 3 completely different web browsers and I must say this blog loads a lot quicker then most. Can you suggest a good web hosting provider at a honest price? Cheers, I appreciate it!

  17. Hi! This is my first visit to your blog! We are a group of volunteers and starting a new project in a community in the same niche.
    Your blog provided us valuable information to work on. You have done a
    marvellous job!

  18. Its like you read my mind! You appear to know a lot about this, like you
    wrote the book in it or something. I think that you
    can do with some pics to drive the message home a bit, but other than that,
    this is wonderful blog. An excellent read. I will certainly be back.

  19. With havin so much content and articles do you ever run into any problems of plagorism or copyright violation?
    My site has a lot of completely unique content I’ve either authored myself or outsourced but it looks like a lot of it is popping it up all over the internet without my permission. Do you know any solutions to help prevent content from being ripped off? I’d really appreciate it.

  20. Hey there! Would you mind if I share your blog with my myspace group?
    There’s a lot of people that I think would really enjoy your content. Please let me know. Many thanks

  21. Write more, thats all I have to say. Literally, it seems as though
    you relied on the video to make your point. You definitely know what youre talking about, why waste your intelligence on just
    posting videos to your weblog when you could be giving us something enlightening to read?

  22. Hi would you mind stating which blog platform you’re using? I’m going to start my own blog soon but I’m having a difficult time choosing between BlogEngine/Wordpress/B2evolution and Drupal. The reason I ask is because your design and style seems different then most blogs and I’m looking for something unique. P.S Sorry for getting off-topic but I had to ask!

  23. Wow, wonderful blog layout! How long have you been blogging for?
    you make blogging look easy. The overall look of your site is wonderful,
    let alone the content!

  24. I do agree with all of the ideas you have offered for your post.
    They’re really convincing and will certainly work. Still, the posts are too short for newbies. May you please prolong them a little from subsequent time? Thank you for the post.

  25. Hello mates, how is the whole thing, and what you wish for to say on the topic of this
    article, in my view its in fact amazing in favor of me.

  26. I know this if off topic but I’m looking into starting my own weblog and was wondering what all is needed to get set up? I’m assuming having a
    blog like yours would cost a pretty penny?
    I’m not very internet smart so I’m not 100% positive. Any suggestions or advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks

  27. Thanks for the marvelous posting! I seriously enjoyed reading it,
    you’re a great author.I will make certain to bookmark your blog and may come back in the future. I want to encourage one to continue your great posts, have a nice day!

  28. Hey There. I found your blog using msn. This is a very well written
    article. I’ll make sure to bookmark it and come back to read more of your useful information. Thanks for the post. I’ll definitely comeback.

  29. I think that the most important thing to consider is that not everyone
    who comes to this website wants the exact same thing and
    finding a title like “the search term I used to find this post can mean different things to different people. It generally does not genuinely take a genius to see that this is a thing that everyone will have a different viewpoint on however it is probably more important to only state everything you feel.

  30. I’m extremely inspired along with your writing talents and also with the format to your weblog. Is this a paid subject matter or did you customize it yourself? Either way stay up the nice high quality writing, it’s
    uncommon to look a great blog like this
    one nowadays..

  31. I know this if off topic but I’m looking into starting my own blog and was curious what all is needed to get setup? I’m assuming having a blog like
    yours would cost a pretty penny? I’m not very internet savvy so I’m not 100% positive. Any recommendations or advice would be greatly appreciated. Cheers

  32. With havin so much content do you ever run into any issues of plagorism or copyright violation?
    My blog has a lot of exclusive content I’ve either written myself or outsourced but it appears a lot of it is popping it up all over the internet without my agreement. Do you know any solutions to help reduce content from being stolen? I’d really appreciate it.

  33. I am really impressed along with your writing talents and
    also with the structure on your blog. Is this a paid subject matter or did you customize it your self?
    Anyway keep up the excellent quality writing, it
    is rare to look a great weblog like this one nowadays.
    .

  34. Thank you a lot for sharing this with all people you really know what you’re speaking approximately! Bookmarked. Please additionally discuss with my web site =). We can have a hyperlink alternate arrangement among us

  35. Greetings from Idaho! I’m bored to death at work so I decided to check out your blog on my iphone during lunch break. I enjoy the knowledge you provide here and can’t wait to take a look when I get home. I’m shocked at how quick your blog loaded on my cell phone .. I’m not even using WIFI, just 3G .. Anyways, great site!

  36. I’m impressed, I have to admit. Rarely do I come across a blog that’s both educative and amusing, and let me tell you, you have hit the nail on the head. The issue is something which too few men and women are speaking intelligently about. I am very happy that I came across this during my search for something relating to this.

  37. I seldom write responses, but i did some searching and wound up here
    Get Google Now on Your Rooted Ice Cream Sandwich Phone | elmoony. And I do have 2 questions for you if you do not mind.
    Is it simply me or does it look as if like a few of these comments appear like they are written by brain dead
    folks?😛 And, if you are posting on other social sites, I
    would like to keep up with everything fresh you have to post.
    Could you list of all of all your community sites
    like your linkedin profile, Facebook page or twitter feed?

  38. I tend not to leave a response, but I browsed a few comments here Get Google Now on Your Rooted Ice Cream
    Sandwich Phone | elmoony. I actually do have 2 questions for
    you if you do not mind. Is it just me or does it
    seem like a few of these responses look like they are written by brain dead people?😛 And, if you are writing at additional online social sites, I would like to follow you.

    Would you post a list of the complete urls of all your
    social community sites like your linkedin profile, Facebook page or twitter feed?

  39. Right here is the perfect site for everyone who wants to find out about this topic.
    You know so much its almost tough to argue with you (not that I personally will need
    to…HaHa). You definitely put a new spin on a subject that’s been written about for many years. Great stuff, just excellent!

  40. You actually make it seem so easy with your presentation but I
    find this topic to be really something which I think I
    would never understand. It seems too complicated and very broad for me.
    I am looking forward for your next post, I’ll try to get the hang of it!

  41. You really make it seem really easy with your presentation but I find
    this matter to be actually something which I believe I might never
    understand. It seems too complex and very huge for me.
    I am having a look forward for your next put up, I’ll try to get the hold of it!

  42. Howdy this is kind of of off topic but I was
    wanting to know if blogs use WYSIWYG editors or if you have to manually code with HTML.
    I’m starting a blog soon but have no coding skills so I wanted to get advice from someone with experience. Any help would be enormously appreciated!

  43. Hi would you mind letting me know which hosting company you’re utilizing? I’ve loaded
    your blog in 3 completely different web browsers and I must say this blog
    loads a lot faster then most. Can you recommend a good internet hosting provider at a
    honest price? Kudos, I appreciate it!

  44. Thanks for inviting me over. But, with my eyesight problems I find it rather difficult to read. Also, coming somewhat late to computing, I haven’t a clue what you are talking about. I’m sure it must be excellent though – judging by your popularity.

Leave a Reply

